Season Preview: Women’s Swim & Dive Poised to Compete at National Level

Season Preview: Women’s Swim & Dive Poised to Compete at National Level

AMHERST, Mass. – The Amherst women's swimming and diving team gears up for their 2018-19 campaign as they return a veteran group and nine New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) selections to seek another productive year under head coach Nick Nichols who is entering his 21st season. Kai Robinson also returns to the coaching staff after being named the 2018 Diving Coach of the Year.

The Mammoths return 24 student-athletes to the roster and will open their season this Saturday, November 17th as they host Colby College beginning at 2:00 PM.


Katie Smith '19 (Sprint, Free), Jacqueline Palermo '19 (Diving), Bridgitte Kwong '19 (Back, IM), and Livia Domenig '19 (Free) all received NESCAC honors last season, and are four out of 11 returning seniors. Smith placed third in the 50 and 100 yard breaststroke, recording times of 29.52 and 1:05.05 respectively. Palermo notched second in the 3 meter diving with 446.10 points while Kwong recorded second place finishes in the 400 yard IM and the 200 yard backstroke. Domenig also marked great times in the NESCAC Championships, noting a second place finish in the 400 and 800 yard freestyle relay.

The veteran corp is rounded out with Dorit Song '19 (Sprint Free, Breast), Jayne Vogelzang '19 (IM, Distance Free), Molly Pines '19 (Sprint Free, Breast), Zoe Pappas '19 (Sprint Free), Clare Leonard '19 (Fly), Hope Kim '19 (Sprint Free), and Jasmine Horan '19 (Diving) who will all lead the way for this year's campaign.


Ingrid Shu '20, Sarah McDonald '20, and Natalie Rumpelt '20 (Free, Back) headline the junior class after receiving All-Conference nods during the 2017-18 season. Rumpelt record third place finishes in the 100 and 200 yard freestyle while McDonald and Shu played an integral part in the 400 and 800 yard relays.

Heather Grotzinger '20 (Breast, IM), Abby LeCates '20 (Fly), Margaret Parker '20 (Breast), and Isabella Weiner '20 (Fly, Breast, IM) are the remaining juniors this season and are looking to improve on their NESCAC Championship finishes.

Returner Lindsey Ruderman '21 (Diving) received NESCAC Diver of the Year during her rookie campaign last season, while receiving All-NESCAC Selection alongside sophomore teammate Nina Fitzgerald '21 (Breast). Meredith King '21 (Fly), Julia Ruggiero '21 (Distance), Hanna Sanford '21 (Free), and Ingrid Wefing '21 (Backstroke) finalize the sophomore class which are looking to build off their strengths from last year.

In addition to their returners, the Mammoths welcomed first-years Marie Fagan '22 (Fly, Back, Free), Sophia Harrison '22 (Fly, Back), Nawoo Kim '22 (Breast), Julia Merrill '22 (Free), and Caroline Needell '22 (Distance) to the squad.


First-year Hannah Karlin '22 will join the veteran presence of Horan and Palermo, along with Ruderman, to chase another conference and NCAA berth.