Tamen, Juarez Headline Five All-Conference Nods

Tamen, Juarez Headline Five All-Conference Nods

NESCAC Release

AMHERST, Mass. - Amherst senior Rubii Tamen '19 was selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year and also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second straight year, while teammate Alexa Juarez '22 received NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Bella Palma '20, Antonia Tammaro '21, and Caleigh Plaut '19 earned All-NESCAC Second Team for the Mammoths as well, as announced by the conference office on Thursday afternoon.

Tamen is the sixth Mammoth to garner the award and first since 2011, joining former Amherst players Catherine Poor (2001), Ashley Harmeling (2003), Amy Armstrong (2006), Meg Murphy (2008), and Kathryn Nathan (2011). She leads the NESCAC in goals (14) and points (28) and has tallied six game-winning markers. Tamen has scored all of the last eight goals for the Mammoths with six of them being in a three-game span.

Juarez earned NESCAC Rookie of the year after posting an impressive seven goals and six assists (second in the conference) so far this season, marking her point total at 20 heading into the NCAA Tournament. Juarez had a breakout run towards the end of September where she notched five goals through three matches, including a hat trick against New England College to add to her productive rookie campaign.

Tammaro has been dominant in between the pipes this season, currently sitting with a 0.41 goals against average and 39 saves for the Purple & White. At one point in the season, Tammaro was tied for first in the nation for save percentage (0.957) in Division III. She has started 12 of the 13 matches she has played in and has a record of 9-1-2.

Palma and Plaut round out the NESCAC honors for Amherst as the duo has been a staple in the Mammoth backline this season. Plaut amassed her first career goal at Amherst when she scored in two consecutive matches in early September. She currently sits third on the team in scoring (4) and has started all 17 matches played this year. Palma has been a force in the defensive line as she is attributed to the 13 shutouts the Mammoths acquired. While starting all 16 of her matches played, Palma has contributed to suppressing each opponent this year as the Amherst defense only allowed eight goals heading into the NCAA Tournament.

This is the third year since 2000 that a team has swept both the Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors.

Amherst was an at-large selection to the NCAA Tournament field and will host first and second round matches this weekend (November 10-11)

In October 2018, Amherst proudly recognized Ted W. Beneski '78, P'08 and Laurie M. Beneski P'08 for their extraordinary generosity and commitment to the College by naming the men's and women's soccer programs in their honor. The College's naming of the Beneski Soccer Programs celebrates the Beneskis' love for Amherst athletics and their longstanding investment in helping Amherst students excel as learners, as players and teammates, and as citizens.