Mazzocca Named Rookie of the Year, Walker First Team All-NESCAC

Mazzocca Named Rookie of the Year, Walker First Team All-NESCAC


AMHERST, Mass. – Sophomore goalkeeper Caitlin Walker and first-year forward Jillian Mazzocca of the Amherst College women's ice hockey team have garnered New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference accolades for their efforts on the ice in 2019-2020.

Voted on by conference coaching staffs, Mazzocca - a forward hailing from West Hartford, Conn. - became just the second Mammoth in program history to claim Rookie of the Year distinction, joining Krystyn Elek (2007), while Walker captured a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team as the third-ranked keeper in the nation in goals against average.

Earning her first all-league nod, Walker started 26 contests for Amherst to compiled a record of 16-6-5 record in frame. Facing 736 shots throughout the season, the Columbus, Ohio native was a brick wall in net, amassing a .957 save percentage and a 1.19 goals against average while posting six shut outs.

In NESCAC play, Walker boasted a 1.29 goals against average and a .954 save percentage to rank second in the conference in both categories in 16 appearances. Walker played the most minutes of any NESCAC goalkeeper and anchored the Mammoths' second-ranked scoring defense in the league.

Clinching NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, Mazzocca garners the accolade following an explosive season up front for Amherst in which she led the team in goals (11) and dished out 12 assists to finish second on the Mammoths in points with 23. Her astounding five game-winning goals on the winter was a Mammoths'-high and ties to rank sixth in Division III.

In conference action, the first-year scored five goals, dished out seven assists, and was the hero in Amherst's NESCAC quarterfinal victory over Connecticut College - scoring the game winner and the only maker of the contest 1:43 into overtime. Mazzocca led the NESCAC in first-year scoring at .75 points per game, which ranked sixth amongst all NESCAC players.

The Mammoths were crowned NESCAC Champions for the fourth time in a dramatic 2-1 victory over top-seeded Middlebury to earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships - the programs' first appearance since 2016 and seventh overall.