Martin, Ryan, and Toupal Honored by NEHWA

Martin, Ryan, and Toupal Honored by NEHWA

BOSTON, Mass. – Senior captain and forward Erin Martin, junior defenseman Caitlyn Ryan, and sophomore forward Alex Toupal have been named to the NCAA Division II/III New England Women's Hockey All-Star Team as announced recently by the New England Hockey Writers Association.

Voted on by Division II/III coaches and respective media outlets throughout New England, Martin, Ryan, and Toupal are three of 13 student-athletes to be named All-New England and are joined by Ari Bourque of Bowdoin and Maddie Winslow of Middlebury as NESCAC honorees. Middlebury head coach Bill Mandigo was named Coach of the Year.  

Martin adds this accolade to her decorated career after she was named a Second Team All-NESCAC selection for the third consecutive season. The Canton, Mass. native finished the season with three hat tricks en route to tallying 22 goals (seventh in nation) and 15 assists for 37 points. Recording 1.32 points per game in 2015-16, Martin found herself among the nation's best, ranking 15th overall in all of Division III.  In 104 career games, Martin has posted 94 points for the Purple & White on 45 goals and 49 assists.

Ryan adds All-New England to her impressive resume after being named First Team All-NESCAC, Second Team East All-America, and Second Team All-USCHO. A force on both sides of the ice, Ryan notched four goals and 14 assists while leading an Amherst defense that ranked eighth nationally in goals against average (1.43). The Burlington, Mass. native's 10 points and nine assists in league play placed her first among all NESCAC defenders.

Toupal, who also earned First Team All-NESCAC and Second Team East All-America accolades, picks up her first All-New England selection after leading the Purple & White in all major offensive statistical categories. Scoring 23 goals (fifth in nation), including seven game-winning and three short-handed tallies, and dishing out 16 helpers for 39 points, Toupal established herself as one of the nation's premier players, with her 1.44 goals per game average ranking 14th in the country. Midway through her collegiate career, the New Brighton, Minn. native has registered a total of 31 goals and 26 assists for 57 points.

In 2015-16 Martin, Ryan, and Toupal helped propel Amherst to a 22-3-3 overall mark, and a 13-1-2 NESCAC record, and earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Championship for the first time since 2011-12.

The trio along with their fellow award recipients will be formally honored at the annual New England Hockey Writers Banquet on Wednesday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.


All New-England Team:
Coach of the Year: Bill Mandigo, Middlebury
Player of the Year: Maddie Winslow, So., F, Middlebury

Goalie: Jess Cameron, Sr., Castleton
Goalie: Kami Weiner, Fr., Johnson and Wales

Defense: Izzi Bagi, Jr., Holy Cross
Defense: Julie Beattie, Jr., Conn College
Defense: Martha Findley, Jr., Saint Anselm
Defense: Caitlyn Ryan, Jr., Amherst

Forward: Ari Bourque, Sr., Bowdoin
Forward: Erin Martin, Sr., Amherst
Forward: Danielle Phalon, Sr., Salve Regina
Forward: Alex Starzyk, Saint Anselm
Forward: Taylor Steadman, Sr., Castleton
Forward: Alex Toupal, So., Amherst
Forward: Maddie Winslow, So., Middlebury