Wolf Added to Prestigious Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Wolf Added to Prestigious Tewaaraton Award Watch List

The Tewaaraton Foundation Release
USLacrosse Magazine Release

AMHERST, Mass. – Senior captain and attackman Evan Wolf of the Amherst College men's lacrosse team has been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, as recently announced by the Foundation.

Voted on by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches that are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation, the Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player – across all Divisions - in the United States.

Wolf represents the only Division III player in the country to earn a spot on the prestigious Watch List, and is the first Amherst College player in the history of the program to earn the honor.

No stranger to athletic accolades, Wolf is the reigning 2018 NESCAC Player of the Year, 2018 IMLCA DIII Offensive Player of the Year and a 2018 USILA First Team All-American and was named the 2019 Warrior/US Lacrosse Division III Men's Preseason Player of the Year prior to the start of the spring.

"Since his arrival on campus, Evan's been a program changer. He's earned his substantial list of accolades, through a relentless work ethic and fierce competitiveness," commented Amherst head coach Jon Thompson. "He holds himself to such a high standard, yet balances that determination with such positivity and infectious joy each and every day. People say positivity is infectious; Evan Wolf is living proof of that."

Through seven games this season, the Wynnewood, Pa. native has continued to live up to the hype – leading the Mammoths in all three major offensive statistical categories with 43 points behind 29 goals and 14 assists. His 29 goals are tied for first in the NESCAC and 12th in the nation, while his 5.83 points per game ranks him 12th in Division III.

His career stat line includes 85 ground balls, 14 caused turnovers, 135 goals and 70 helpers for 205 total points in 54 appearances donning the Purple & White.

This year's initial watch list, announced on Feb. 28, recognized the top 50 men's candidates for the Tewaaraton Award, while 10 more student-athletes were added as first round additions. Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to continue to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. The next round of watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on April 11, before the field is narrowed to 25 nominees on April 25 for the final round of voting.

AJ Barretto, Army – Sr., Goalie
Jake Carraway, Georgetown – Jr., Attack
Jared Conners, Virginia – Jr., LSM
Matt Gaudet, Yale – Jr., Attack
Mac O'Keefe, Penn State – Jr., Attack
Clarke Pettersen, Cornell – Sr., Attack
Koby Smith, Towson – Soph., Defense
Brendan Sunday, Towson – Sr., Attack
Logan Wisnauskas, Maryland – Soph., Attack
Evan Wolf, Amherst – Sr., Attack

 Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.