Amherst Tops 100 NESCAC All-Academic Selections, Boasts Two Triple-Honorees

Amherst Tops 100 NESCAC All-Academic Selections, Boasts Two Triple-Honorees



HADLEY, Mass. – The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) has announced the members of the 2019 All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship Teams and Amherst College saw 104 student-athletes honored for their work in the classroom.

Amherst was among five schools in the NESCAC with more than 100 All-Academic selections, as the conference recognized 992 student-athletes. To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50. Transfer students must have completed one year of study at the institution. 

Juniors Jayson Fung (Men's Tennis) and Clark Ricciardelli (Men's Outdoor Track & Field) were among 13 individuals from across the conference who were selected to the All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship and All-Conference teams for their respective sports.

More than half of the squad (62) was representing Amherst on the All-Academic team for at least the second time in their career, while twenty-one of the Amherst student-athletes were receiving their third consecutive All-Academic selection.

Eighteen All-Academic Mammoths were also named to their sport's All-Conference team, including NESCAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year Evan Wolf '19, a three-time All-NESCAC honoree and two-time All-Academic selection.

A total of 112 student-athletes were named to the 2019 NESCAC Spring All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.

Amherst senior Lorena Ukanwa (Softball) earned her first All-Sportsmanship team selection to go along with her third All-NESCAC honors. Kelsey Chen '19 (Women's Tennis), a 2019 All-Conference winner as well, earned her second All-Sportsmanship award.

Joe Palmo '21 added his first All-Sportsmanship accolade to his first ever All-Conference selection this year.

Other Mammoths named to the All-Sportsmanship Team include Brendan Routh '19 (Men's Lacrosse), Annie Cohen '19 (Women's Lacrosse), Ella Rossa '21 (Women's Outdoor Track & Field) and Jack Burlison '19 (Men's Golf).

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements. 

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.