Indoor Track Teams Place Top-15 at Open New Englands

BOSTON, MA – The Amherst College men's and women's indoor track and field teams each wrapped up action at the two-day NEICAAA Track and Field Championships this afternoon on the campus of Boston University. The "Open" New England's annually feature teams from the NCAA's Divisions I, II and III, with both Amherst squads landing in the top-15 at today's conclusion.  The Lord Jeff men's and women's teams were each edged by just one Division III team within the deep field, placing 12th and 15th overall, respectively.

In the men's competition, Amherst's top performers came in the distance medley relay, a group of four competitors that have run well in each of the last two competitions. Finishing in third place with a time of 9:56.73 was the quartet of Steven Corsello (Skaneateles, NY), Tommy Moore (Marlboroug, MA), Ben Scheetz (Lancaster, PA) and Jimmy Swanson (New Orleans, LA).

Finishing in fourth place in the men's one mile run was junior Will Yochum (Goleta, CA) with a time of 4:09.41, while senior Carlyle Eubank (Santa Ynez, CA) placed fifth in the 5000 meter run with a 14:49.22. Rounding out the top of Amherst's day was senior Daniel Murner (Crestwood, KY, who with a time of 8:35.15, placed 12th in the 3000 meter run.

In the women's competition, Amherst's best result came once again in the DMR. The foursome of Hoiwan Cheung (Hanover, NH), Susan Wasserman (Brooklyn, NY), Mary Doris Reggie (Crowley, LA) and Melissa Sullivan (Dallas, TX) finished with a 12:00.83 to place fifth overall. 

Also scoring for Amherst at the event was rookie Ali Simeone (Stoneham, MA), who placed eighth in the 3000 meter run with a 10:08.73. The Jeffs had two strong performances in the 5000 meter run, led by senior Sophia Galleher's (Denver, CO) sixth place finish. Galleher's time of 17:46.77 was impressive, as was first-year Sarah Daly's (Wheaton, IL) 18:18.24 for an 11th place result. 

Amherst will compete next weekend at Smith College at the 2010 ECAC Championships, before heading to DePauw University the following weekend for the NCAA Championships.