ITA Names Bukzin Northeast Rookie of the Year

ITA Names Bukzin Northeast Rookie of the Year

TEMPE, Ariz. – The 2019 ITA NCAA Division III men's and women's regional award winners were announced on Tuesday afternoon, and Amherst College first year Jackie Bukzin was selected as the Northeast Women's Tennis Rookie of the Year. 

Bukzin will be part of a contingent of Mammoths heading to Kalamazoo, Michigan next week for the NCAA DIII quarterfinals. She will also be part of the draw for both the singles tournament and the doubles championships, where she partners with teammate Kelsey Chen '19.

The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Rookie of the Year, Bukzin is the second Mammoth in the last three seasons to be named the top rookie in the Northeast by the ITA. Teammate Camille Smukler, who was the 2017 award winner, will also be in this year's NCAA singles championships for the third consecutive season.

The native of Manorville, N.Y. has a 20-6 record on the season, including an 8-5 mark at first singles in dual match play. She asserted herself early on this year as a dominant force on the court, winning the singles draw at the ITA Regional Championships the doubles A-Draw at the NEWITT Championships, along with teammate Claire Evans '22. She also finished as the singles runner-up at the MIT/Tufts Invitational, her first collegiate action.

In dual match play, Bukzin has collected first singles wins against some of the top teams in the country, including #12 Washington University, #4 Wesleyan and twice against #8 Tufts, both in the regular season and again in the NESCAC tournament.

Playing with Chen, Bukzin has an 11-4 record at doubles, most recently with first doubles wins against both TCNJ and Johns Hopkins in the Second and Third round of the NCAA tournament.

Bukzin and the Mammoths will face Middlebury on Monday at 11:00 AM in Kalamazoo, Michigan in the quarterfinal round of the 2019 DIII women's tennis championships.

The ITA sponsors the following awards: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year, Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, ITA Rookie of the Year, ITA Player to Watch, ITA Most Improved Senior, ITA Senior Player of the Year and ITA Community Service Award.

The national award winners will be announced on May 20.