Bukzin Headlines Three All-Conference Nods and NCAA Individual Selections

Bukzin Headlines Three All-Conference Nods and NCAA Individual Selections

HADLEY, Mass. – Jackie Bukzin '22 was named the 2019 NESCAC Rookie of the Year while teammates Kelsey Chen '19 and Camille Smukler '20 earned Second Team All-NESCAC for doubles and singles competition, respectively, as announced by the league office Friday morning. All three members of the Amherst women's tennis team also received selection into the NCAA Individuals Championship.

Bukzin is the fifth Amherst player to be named the NESCAC Rookie of the Year and second Mammoth in three years to earn the accolade. Other Amherst players to be named Rookie of the Year include Rachel Holt (2002), Kristen Raverta (2003), Jordan Brewer (2011), and teammate Camille Smukler (2017). Buzkin has a 20-6 record as the No. 1 player for the Mammoths this season. She looks to add to her win total when Amherst competes on Saturday after receiving a first round bye in the NCAA Tournament.

Smukler returns to the all-conference ballot for her third consecutive season after garnering the conferences Rookie of the Year accolade in 2017 and was tabbed as First Team All-NESCAC in 2018. The Villanova, Pennsylvania native boasts a 9-2 record at number two and an 11-4 overall record on the season. Smukler also received ITA Northeast Rookie of the Year in 2017 and ITA Singles All-America during her first two seasons in the Purple & White.

A mainstay in the Mammoths lineup over the course of her four-year career, Chen records her second conference honor after snagging a NESCAC Second Team nod during her sophomore campaign. Chen returns to the NCAA Championships for the fourth consecutive year and boasts an 11-5 overall record in doubles and a 10-4 mark at number one. Chen will battle alongside Bukzin at the NCAA Individual Championship.

The NCAA Individual Championships will be held from May 24-26 at Stow Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan and will be hosted by Kalamazoo College. The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee selected seven singles player and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool, totaling at 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. Bukzin and Smukler (at-large) will be competing in the singles draw while Chen and Bukzin will battle in doubles.