CHAMPS! Jeffs Down Williams in NESCAC Championship Match, 5-1

Contact: Ben Baduanescac_action.jpg


BRUNSWICK, Maine – The second-ranked Amherst women's tennis team captured an unprecedented ninth NESCAC title on Sunday with a 5-1 win over archrival Williams in the conference championship match hosted by Bowdoin College.

Combining with Williams to win all 14 of the NESCAC crowns since tournament play began in 2001, Amherst has captured at least a share of the title in nine of the last 11 years. Extending its season win streak to nine, while improving to 2-1 against the third-ranked Ephs (19-2, 7-2 NESCAC), Amherst ups its overall mark to 18-3 (8-0 NESCAC). Earning the league's automatic bid to the upcoming NCAA Division III Championship, the Purple & White will await news of its seeding when the full 50-team field is announced on Monday evening.

Notching the match's first point, Williams' Kathleen Elkins '14 and Maria Pylpiv '15 defeated Jen Newman '14 and Zoe Pangalos '14 at second doubles, 8-2. Pulling the Jeffs even, Gabby Devlin '14 and Jordan Brewer '14 handed Kara Shoemaker '14 and Rebecca Curran '15 an 8-4 first doubles loss. Sarah Monteagudo '16 and Safi Aly '15 closed out doubles action with an 8-5 triumph over Linda Shin '17 and Hannah Atkinson '17.

Making quick work of Elkins in singles play, Devlin took both frames of a straight-set win, 6-1, 6-1, to give the Jeffs a 3-1 match advantage. Sue Ghosh '16 followed with a decisive 6-3, 6-1 victory over Pylpiv to inch Amherst closer to victory. Taking the first frame of her No. 1 singles match against Shoemaker (6-2), Brewer clinched the championship with a hard-fought 7-6 decision in the second.

Shin held a slim 6-4, 4-6, 3-2 lead over Newman at the time of the match's completion, while Curran was on top of Pangalos, 7-6, 1-0. Williams' Monica Pastor '15 was also ahead in her sixth singles showdown against Monteagudo, 7-6, 2-1.

1. Brewer/Devlin (A) def. Shoemaker/Curran (W), 8-4
2. Elkins/Pylpiv (W) def. Newman/Pangalos (A), 8-2
3. Monteagudo/Aly (A) def. Shin/Atkinson (W), 8-5
1. Brewer (A) def. Shoemaker (W), 6-2, 7-6
2. Devlin (A) def. Elkins (W), 6-1, 6-1
3. Newman (A) vs. Shin (W), UF (4-6, 6-4, 2-3)
4. Ghosh (A) def. Pylpiv (W), 6-3, 6-1
5. Pangalos (A) vs. Curran (W), UF (6-7, 0-1)    
6. Monteagudo (A) vs. Pastor (W), UF (6-7, 1-2)