Raverta Named NESCAC Rookie of the Year; Raverta, Hedrick, Agarwal, Holt, Miller, Molchen & Murphy Earn All-NESCAC Honors

April 22, 2003 

AMHERST, MA - Amherst College first-year sensation Kristen Raverta (W. Springfield, MA) was named the NESCAC Women's Tennis Rookie of the Year on Tuesday, heading a list of seven Amherst players to earn All-NESCAC honors, as determined by results from the conference championship tournament held at Williams College over the weekend. 

The Rookie of the Year Award was Amherst's second in a row, after sophomore Rachel Holt (New York, NY) earned NESCAC, Regional and National Rookie of the Year honors in 2002. 

Rounding out the list from Amherst are first-team selections Tristan Hedrick (Walnut Creek, CA) and Raverta, and second-team picks Holt, Roopali Agarwal (Boxford, MA), Hadley Miller (Lancaster, PA), Wallis Molchen (Wilmington, DE) and Erin Murphy (Yonkers, NY). Hedrick was a first-team singles and second-team doubles selection after earning second-team singles honors last season. 

Fourth-ranked Amherst tied Tufts University for second place at the NESCAC Tournament, just six points behind host Williams, which claimed its third straight conference title. 

2003 NESCAC Tournament Results