Amherst Wins Third Straight New England Championship

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Amherst College emerged as the winner of the Division III New England Women's Intercollegiate Tennis Tournament for the third straight year as competition wrapped up this afternoon in Amherst, Massachusetts. Champions of each singles and doubles flight are listed below:

Top 10 Team Finishes:
1. Amherst              42 points
2. Bowdoin              30 points
3. Williams             26 points
4. Trinity              21.5 points
5. Wesleyan             21 points
6. Tufts                18.5 points
7. Smith                17 points
8. Colby                10 points
9. Middlebury           8.5 points
10. Wellesley           8 points

Singles Championships:
1. Katrina Mitchell (Bowdoin) d. Kanta Murali (Smith)
2. Pam Diamond (Amherst) d. Stacia Poulos (Wesleyan)
3. Neely Steinberg (Amherst) d. Sarah Kline (Williams)
4. Amy Gubbins (Bowdoin) d. Daphne King (Williams)
5. Heidi Polsen (Trinity) d. Jill Bazelon (Williams)
6. Carolyn Pastel (Amherst) d. McNabb (Wellesley)

Doubles Championships:
1. Pam Diamond-Neely Steinberg (Amherst) d. Stacia Poulos-Rachel Sigman (Wesleyan)
2. Abiah Folger-Daphne deDominicis (Trinity) d. Lisl Hacker-Amy Gubbins (Bowdoin)
3. Sally Childs-Sam Toerge (Amhrest) d. Jill Bazelon-Daphne King (Williams)

#          #          #