Ruderman, Robinson Headline 11 All-NESCAC Selections

Ruderman, Robinson Headline 11 All-NESCAC Selections


AMHERST, Mass. – Marking their third consecutive New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Diver of the Year and Diving Coach of the Year awards, Lindsey Ruderman '21 and coach Kai Robinson '09 headlined the Amherst College women's swimming & diving team's 11 All-Conference selections for their efforts at the annual league meet last weekend.

The top-three finishers in each of the events on Championship weekend receive All-Conference distinction.

Accruing the same accolades the previous two seasons, Ruderman and Robinson earned their third-straight Diver of the Year and Diving Coach of the Year honor as Ruderman swept both diving events. Ruderman opened with a score of 471.65 on the 1-meter board during the second day of competition, before entering the final day of the championship where she posted a school, NESCAC, NESCAC meet, and Middlebury Natatorium record of 549.85 points on the 3-meter board.

Hannah Karlin '22 tallies her first NESCAC honor following a stout performance on the 1-meter board with 437.55 points.

Robinson received the honor for his contributions guiding the diving corps behind the scenes. Robinson is only the second coach in Amherst program history to earn Diving Coach of the Year (Jesse Maple, 2013) and saw Amherst take three of the six diving All-NESCAC spots.

Each earning an All-NESCAC nod during their rookie campaign, Grace Tarantola '23 and Jessica Gordon '23 were recognized for their contributions to the teams' third-place finish in the 800 freestyle relay (7:26.88), joined by Sarah McDonald '20 and Natalie Rumpelt '20 who rounded out the quartet.

Amherst had three All-Conference finishes in the relay events, with Rumpelt contributing a leg in each of them. In addition to the 800 freestyle relay, Rumpelt was also a part of the Mammoths' second place finishes in the 400 medley relay (3:45.66) and the record-breaking 200 medley relay (1:42.91). The Albany, N.Y. native also secured an individual top-finish when she touched the wall in 4:55.40 for third place in the 500 freestyle.

Nina Fitzgerald '21 received her third-straight NESCAC honor after landing inside the top-three in each of the breaststroke events. Taking the top time in the 50 breaststroke, Fitzgerald notched a 29.09 mark for gold before taking second in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:02.82. Rounding out her appearances in individual competition, the junior claimed third in the 200 breaststroke (2:16.80) before earning two nods for her efforts in the team's silver medal finishes in the 400 and 200 medley relay. 

Daniela Gonzalez Pinero '23, who was among the four in both medley relays, earned her first individual All-NESCAC selection when she finished third in the 100 backstroke (56.71).

Ingrid Shu '20 and Marie Fagan '22 were the final two Mammoths to be named All-Conference for their contributions to the 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay, respectively. Fagan earned her second nod following a silver finish in the 200 butterfly with a school-record time of 2:02.08.

The final Purple & White All-NESCAC accolade came from Julia Ruggiero '21, with the junior placing second overall in the 1,000 freestyle (10:17.08).