Seven Nab All-NESCAC, Ruderman, Robinson Named Diver & Diving Coach Of the Year

Seven Nab All-NESCAC, Ruderman, Robinson Named Diver & Diving Coach Of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Seven members of the Amherst College women's swimming & diving team received 2019 All-NESCAC accolades after their standout performances at the four-day NESCAC Championships that was hosted by Wesleyan University last weekend (February 14-17).

The top-three finishers in each event received All-Conference recognition.

Lindsey Ruderman '21 received 2019 NESCAC Diver of the Year while Kai Robinson '09 was voted Diving Coach of the Year. The duo accrued the same accolades last season, making this their second consecutive year receiving the All-NESCAC individual honors. Ruderman swept both diving events beginning with the 1-meter board on day two. She notched a score of 461.45 points to place first before heading to the 3-meter board on the final day. With a score of 514 points, Ruderman became the only Mammoth to claim first over the weekend.

Nina Fitzgerald '21 received three All-NESCAC nods after her performances in the three breaststroke events. Fitzgerald placed second in the 50 yard breaststroke with a time of 29.45 before another second place finish in the 100 (1:03.58). In the final breaststroke event (200), she marked a time of 2:17.44 (2nd Place) to record her second consecutive conference honor.

Bridgitte Kwong '19 makes her fourth sequential appearance on the All-League ballot after securing second place in the 400 individual medley and the 200 backstroke. In the 400 medley, Kwong marked a time of 4:25.53 to edge Williams Ellie Sherman (4:26.89) who placed third. In the 200 backstroke, she came within one second of the first place finisher (Gwyneth Maloy) with a time of 2:02.69.

Natalie Rumpelt '20 and Julia Ruggiero '21 were the final two Mammoths to receive two All-NESCAC nods. Rumpelt took third in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:51.21 before a second place finish in the 100 freestyle (51.36) to note her second career conference accolade. Ruggiero receives her first All-League nomination after marking a time of 10:18.68 (Third Place) in the 1,000 freestyle and tying Williams Alison McNamara for second place in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 17:02.33.

Marie Fagan '22 and Jacqueline Palermo '19 place third in their respective events to finalize the seven members of the Amherst women's swimming & diving team that received All-NESCAC. Fagan took third after her 2:02.87 performance in the 200 butterfly before Palermo dove for a score of 425.45 points on the 3-meter board.  

For his efforts behind the scenes this season, Robinson was named the NESCAC's Diving Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. Robinson is only the second Amherst coach in program history to earn the honor (Jesse Maple-2013). Guiding the diving corps, Robinson helped land two Mammoth divers inside the top-three in both diving events collectively.


Lindsey Ruderman '21
                1-meter diving: 461.45 (1st)
                3-meter diving: 514.00 (1st)

Nina Fitzgerald '21
                50 yard breaststroke: 29.45 (2nd)
                100 yard breaststroke: 1:03.58 (2nd)
                200 yard breaststroke: 2:17.44 (2nd)

Julia Ruggiero '21
                1,000 yard freestyle: 10:18.68 (3rd)
                1,650 yard freestyle: 17:02.33 (3rd)

Natalie Rumpelt '20
                200 yard freestyle: 1:51.21 (3rd)
                100 yard freestyle: 51.36 (2nd)

Bridgitte Kwong '19
                400 yard individual medley: 4:25.53 (2nd)
                200 yard backstroke: 2:02.69 (2nd)

Marie Fagan '22
                200 yard butterfly: 2:02.87 (3rd)

Jacqueline Palermo '19
                3-meter diving: 425.45 (3rd)