WALKER CUP CHAMPIONS! Women's Squash Edges Franklin & Marshall, 5-4

WALKER CUP CHAMPIONS! Women's Squash Edges Franklin & Marshall, 5-4

PRINCETON, N.J. - The No. 18 Amherst College women's squash team earned wins on courts five through nine to earn a thrilling, 5-4 victory over No. 17 Franklin & Marshall College in Sunday afternoon's College Squash Association (CSA) Women's National Team Walker Cup (C Division) championship match at the Jadwin Squash Courts on the campus of Princeton University.

With the win, Amherst improves to 13-7 overall and has now won seven straight matches. Franklin & Marshall moves to 7-13 overall.

Franklin & Marshall swept courts one, two and three, and picked up a 3-1 victory on court four.

Amherst earned thrilling five-set wins from courts five, six and eight as Haley McAtee '18 defeated her opponent 12-10, 12-14, 7-11, 11-5, 11-3, while Katy Sabina Correia '20 edged her foe, 6-11, 11-4, 11-9, 7-11, 11-4. Mae Cromwell '18 added a five-set win, 11-4, 11-9, 4-11, 9-11, 11-6, while Jenna Finkelstein '20 and Jenni Bown '20 each produced sweeps on courts seven and nine respectively.


  • Amherst won its third Walker Cup in the last four years, having previously won the title in 2014 and 2015 before being edged in the final by Bates College last season.
  • This is the Purple & White's fourth Walker Cup crown having won their first title in 2009.
  • Franklin & Marshall edged Amherst, 5-4 earlier this season during Pioneer Valley Invitational action at the Davenport Squash Courts.