Jeffs Defeat Wesleyan, Place 7th in Tournament

HARTFORD, Conn. – The sixth-seeded Amherst College women's squash team closed out its 2012 NESCAC Championship run with a 6-3 win over eighth-seeded Wesleyan University Sunday morning, giving the Lord Jeffs a seventh-place finish in the conference tournament.

Amherst improves to 10-9 on the season with one match remaining before heading to Harvard for the CSA Team Championships. The Jeffs will host Mount Holyoke College this Wednesday at 6 p.m., with the national tournament set to begin Friday, Feb. 24.

Senior tri-captain Kate Savage clinched the win for Amherst with a 3-1 victory over Lauren Nelson in the number three match, and Chandler Lusardi '13 added a sixth point for the Lord Jeffs by coming from behind against Mary Foster in the top spot. Lusardi dropped her first game (13-11) but won the next two, eventually sealing the point with an 11-8 result in the fifth frame.

Amherst would end up sweeping the top four matches, as Arielle Lehman '15 and Evelyn Kramer '14 earned 3-1 victories at numbers two and four, respectively. Lehman lost her first game but took the next three, while Kramer broke a 1-1 tie with convincing wins in the third and fourth games.

Accounting for the other two Lord Jeff points were senior tri-captain Anna Scheidt and Ginny Wheeler '13, who cruised to 3-0 wins at six and nine, respectively. Scheidt and Wheeler led Amherst with identical 3-1 records at the NESCAC Championship, as Scheidt improved her season record to a team-best 12-6.

No. 6 Amherst def. No. 8 Wesleyan, 6-3
1. Chandler Lusardi (A) def. Mary Foster (W), 3-2 (11-13, 11-9, 11-7, 6-11, 11-8)
2. Arielle Lehman (A) def. Annie Maxwell (W), 3-1 (4-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-7)
3. Kate Savage (A) def. Lauren Nelson (W), 3-1 (12-10, 11-5, 8-11, 11-9)
4. Evelyn Kramer (A) def. Tanesha Jackson (W), 3-1 (11-4, 5-11, 11-7, 11-4)
5. Grace Zimmerman (W) def. Sarah Nyirjesy (A), 3-0 (11-7, 11-9, 11-5)
6. Anna Scheidt (A) def. Nell Schwed (W), 3-0 (11-4, 11-4, 11-5)
7. Danielle Craig (W) def. Lena Rice (A), 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-9)
8. Kar-Anne Tan (W) def. Mary Katherine McNeill (A), 3-1 (11-8, 12-10, 10-12, 11-5)
9. Ginny Wheeler (A) def. Rosa Hayes (W), 3-0 (11-2, 11-7, 11-5)