Women’s Lacrosse Honored with IWLCA Academic Accolades

Women’s Lacrosse Honored with IWLCA Academic Accolades

>IWLCA Academic Honor Roll Release
>IWLCA Academic Squad Release

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – The Amherst College women's lacrosse team captured Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Honor Squad distinction and six student-athletes landed on the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the organization Monday.

One of 165 Division III institutions and 339 total institutions across Division I, II, III and the NAIA to claim the team accolade, squads needs to post a team GPA of 3.0 or higher in the current academic year to earn Honor Squad laurels.

Honoring individual student-athletes, the IWLCA named 639 players from 189 institutions to the Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll, with recipients needing to be in their junior or senior season and boast a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher to earn the accolade.

Only 13 teams in the country had more student-athletes recognized by the IWLCA, with the Mammoths claiming six spots on the Honor Roll.

Math major Sabrina Solow '19, Statistics major Kaitlyn Haase '19 and Economics major Katie Savage '19 represent the Amherst junior class, while Asian Languages & Civilizations and Political Science major Dakota Foster '18, Biochemistry & Biophysics major Rowena Schenck '18 and Political Science major Julia Crerend '18 represent the Class of 2018.

46 NESCAC student-athletes were named to the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, with 40 additional representatives coming from Bates (1), Bowdoin (5), Colby (4), Connecticut College (4), Hamilton (2), Middlebury (10), Tufts (8), Wesleyan (3) and Williams (3).

Returning to the Quarterfinals of the NCAA Championship for the first time since 2014, Amherst finished the 2018 season with a 17-3 overall ledger and ranked fifth in the final IWLCA Coaches Poll.