Women’s Lacrosse Honored with IWLCA Academic Accolades

Women’s Lacrosse Honored with IWLCA Academic Accolades

>IWLCA Academic Honor Roll Release

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – The Amherst College women's lacrosse team captured Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Honor Squad distinction and seven student-athletes landed on the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the organization Wednesday.

One of 308 Division I, II, III, and NAIA schools to claim the award, squads need to post a team GPA of 3.0 or higher in the current academic year to earn the prestigious Honor Squad accolade. 

In total, 531 student-athletes from 156 institutions were named to the 2017 IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll, with honorees needing to be in their junior or senior season and boast a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher to earn the accolade.

Only four teams in the country - The Catholic University of America (11), Rhodes College (9), Haverford College (8) and Colorado College (8) – had more student-athletes recognized by the IWLCA, while the Mammoths' seven selections co-led the NESCAC.  

Representing the Amherst junior class on the Honor Roll are Political Science/Asian Languages & Civilizations major Dakota Foster, Biochemistry & Biophysics major Rowena Schenck, Political Science major Julia Crerend and English major Kyra Gardner, while Mathematics major Kate Wyeth, Economics/Environmental Studies major Andrea Rijo and English major Hanna Krueger represent the Class of 2017.

47 NESCAC student-athletes were named to the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, with 40 additional representatives coming from Bates (2), Colby (3), Connecticut College (6), Hamilton (7), Middlebury (5), Tufts (5), Wesleyan (6) and Williams (6).