Permut, Kestner Named to Second All-American Team Pair to Try-Out for National Team this Weekend

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Two members of the Amherst College women's lacrosse team were named to their second All-America teams this year as the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA), co-sponsored by Brine, selected 48 student-athletes for three national all-star teams. Both were also named to the United States Women's Lacrosse Association (USWLA) All-American Teams.

Irene Permut (Wilmington, DE) and Heather Kestner (Wilmington, DE) earned national honors for leading Amherst College to its second straight ECAC Championship. Permut claimed First Team USWLA Honors as the midfielder anchored a defense that held opponents to eight goals a game. The junior led the team with 45 ground balls and caused 41 turnovers while committing only 12, and she contributed six goals and eight assists to the Amherst offensive effort. Kestner closed out her collegiate career as the team's leading scorer and third on the all-time scoring list with 163 points that included 126 goals, the second-most in Amherst history. Kestner's nine goals and two assists in two ECAC games earned the tri-captain Tournament MVP honors. The midfielder tallied 46 goals and 10 assists in the 1998 campaign.

Amherst women's lacrosse posted its finest season to date, finishing with a 12-3 record and two-time ECAC Division III New England Champions. The team matched last year's mark of 12 wins for most in a single season with a thrilling 9-8 overtime victory over Bowdoin for the ECAC Crown. Propelling Amherst into the team's fourth-straight post-season appearance was an 8-5 win over then-unbeaten Williams College. This victory earned Amherst a No. 1 seed in the ECAC Tournament and its first Little III title since 1985. The team finished as the No. 10 team in the nation.

Both will attend tryouts for the National team this weekend.

1998 Brine/IWLCA Division III All-American Team

First Team
Dorothy Cavanagh        Trinity
Lina Chickering         Middlebury
Fran Constantine        College of New Jersey
Holly Hoffay            Hartwick
Lisa Krug               William Smith
Kara Silberg            Franklin & Marshall
Kate Stoehr             Hartwick
Alana Teutonico         Williams

Sara Donnaruma          William Smith
Lauren Gioia            Williams
Heidi Howard            Middlebury
Jennifer Maholland      College of New Jersey
Whitney Parker          Washington & Lee
Katherine Roberts       Oberlin

Emily Bracken           Middlebury
Anita Patibandla        Johns Hopkins

Second Team
Holly Baker             Swarthmore
Kristin Carey           Goucher
Allison Doyle           Ithaca
Jen Durgin              Ohio Wesleyan
Summer Kent             William Smith
Jennifer Martinelli     Trinity
Amy Rafalski            Bridgewater
Karen Townsend          Drew

Leslie Greene           Ithaca
Alison Offenburger      Denison
Irene Permut            Amherst
Mandy Roach             Franklin & Marshall
Heather Stafford        Ithaca
Kristin Sullivan        Gettysburg
Amanda Tucker           Trinity

Tara Jensen             St. Mary's College of Maryland

Third Team
Kristin DiMarzo         Cortland
Mary Everett            Colorado
Heather Kestner         Amherst
Danielle Maschuci       Johns Hopkins
Melissa Myers           Ursinus
Ali Ogelsby             Roanoke
Gia Trionfo             St. Mary's College of Maryland
Amity Wall              Middlebury

Melissa Ballance        Mary Washington
Missy Hopkins           Middlebury
Elissa McCarthy         Denison
Jessica McCourt         College of New Jersey
Molly McMahon           Bates
Danae Nason-Junco       William Smith
Molly Wynia             Hartwick

Sue Ketcham             Hartwick

#          #          #