Heather Kestner Named Senior All-Star

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Heather Kestner (Wilmington, DE), a tri-captain of the Amherst College women's lacrosse team, was named to the Division III North All-Star Team, composed of 20 of the finest senior women's lacrosse players in the northeast. Kestner will join her teammates in the Division III Senior All-Star game on June 6 as the North Team will face the South Squad at 4:00pm as part of the STX Lacrosse Festival at Minnegan Stadium, Towson University. Forty of the nation's top seniors were selected to participate in this year's North/South game. Over 70 representatives from 36 different schools were nominate.

Kestner helped to lead Amherst women's lacrosse to a 10-3 season to date as the tenth best team in the nation. She posted a pair of six-goal games, including a seven-point performance that rallied Amherst against No. 5 Trinity. Kestner closed out the regular season with a hat trick against archrival Williams to spoil a perfect season for the Ephs with an 8-5 Amherst victory. The tri-captain earned NESCAC Player of the Week honors for this performance that led Amherst to its first Little III title since 1985.

As a two-time Regional All-American, Kestner is currently No. 3 on Amherst's all-time scoring list with 117 goals and 35 assists for 152 points. Amherst women's lacrosse is currently the No. 1 seed in the ECAC Division III New England Tournament, and the Final Four will be played tomorrow at Pratt Field. Amherst will face fourth-seeded Tufts at 12:00pm, while second-ranked Bowdoin will meet Connecticut College at 2:00pm. Finals are scheduled for 1:00pm on Sunday. Amherst is the defending champion after claiming its first-ever crown in 1997.

North Roster
Lina Chickering         Middlebury      A
Amie Cunningham         Oneonta State   A
Anna Stancioff          Conn College    A
Heather Kestner         Amherst         A
Jessica Striebel        Mount Holyoke   A
Jennifer Martinelli     Trinity (CT)    A
Holly Hoffay            Hartwick        A
Wendy Walker            William Smith   A
Kirsten Keegan          Oneonta State   A
Summer Kent             William Smith   D
Sara Donnaruma          William Smith   D
Amanda Tucker           Trinity (CT)    D
Kate Steehr             Hartwick        D
Dawn Pease              SUNY-Cortland   D
Leslie Greene           Ithaca          D
Heather Stafford        Ithaca          D
Gwen Zale               Skidmore        D
Katherine Roberts       Oberlin         D
Emily Bracken           Middlebury      GK
Stephanie Maroney       Rensselaer      GK

Tricia Hayes            Rensselaer      D
Alison Share            Smith           D

Piep Van Heuven (Ithaca)

South Roster
Lorraine Taurassi       Washington & Lee    A
Kris Algeo              Ursinus                 A
Melissa Myers           Ursinus                 A
Kristen Carey           Goucher                 A
Amy Rafalski            Bridgewater             A
Ali Ogelsby             Roanoke                 A
Megan Tropp             College of NJ           A
Kara Silberg            Franklin & Marshall A
Cathy Danez             Johns Hopkins           A
Tracey Purtell          College of NJ           A
Whitney Parker          Washington & Lee    D
Maria Fontoura          Johns Hopkins           D
Lacie Litz              Randolph-Macon          D
Kristin Sullivan        Gettysburg              D
Kim Kirkbride           Salisbury State         D
Amanda Sciarra          Muhlenberg              D
Mandy Roach             Franklin & Marshall D
Jennifer Maholland      College of NJ           D
Anita Patibandla        Johns Hopkins           GK
Amanda Rose             Western Maryland        GK

Roe Williamson          Colorado College        A
Deanna Estes            Shenendoah              A

Suzanne Weinberg (Drew)
Janine Tucker (Johns Hopkins)

#     #     #