Simon Named Amherst's First-Ever Women's Hockey All-NESCAC Selection

AMHERST, MA - First-year defender Rachel Simon (West Orange, NJ/West Orange) was named Second-Team All-New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) by the league's head coaches on Tuesday, making her the first-ever Amherst College women's hockey player to earn All-NESCAC honors.

Simon, Amherst's top scoring defender, was among the team-leaders in every statistical category, including goals (14), assists (8), points (22), power-play goals (3) and game-winning goals (3). She tied for 10th in the NESCAC in goal scoring (0.58 gpg) and helped lead the Jeffs to a 13-12 overall record, which shattered the college's single-season record for victories.

Williams College senior forward Molly Wasserman was named the NESCAC Women's Hockey Player of the Year after leading the conference in goals (26) and points (46). Joining Wasserman on the first team are sophomore teammate Ellissa Popoff and four players from Middlebury College - forwards Lorna Gifis and Emily Quizon, goaltender Kate Kogut and defender Shannon Tarrant. Bowdoin College first-year Meghan Gillis was named the NESCAC Rookie of the Year with 17 goals and 19 assists. Middlebury's Bill Mandigo earned NESCAC Coach of the Year honors after leading the Panthers to a 15-1 league mark and a 20-3 overall record.

2003-04 NESCAC Women's Hockey All-Conference Team

F - Lorna Gifis (Middlebury) Jr. - Princeton, N.J.
F - Emily Quizon (Middlebury) So. - Chino Hills, Calif.
F - Molly Wasserman (Williams) Sr. - Minnetonka, Minn.
D - Ellissa Popoff (Williams) So. - Old Lyme, Conn.
D - Shannon Tarrant (Middlebury) Fr. - Brookfield, Conn.
G - Kate Kogut (Middlebury) So. - Springfield, Mass.

F - Britney Carr (Bowdoin) Sr. - Conway, N.H.
F - Marissa O'Neil (Bowdoin) Jr. - Manchester, N.H.
F - Eden Self (Hamilton) Sr. - Fairport, N.Y.
D - Rachel Simon (Amherst) Fr. - West Orange, N.J.
D - Wendy Stone (Williams) Jr. - Buffalo, N.Y.
G - Gabby Petrill (Conn. College) So. - Greensburg, Pa.

F - Molly Wasserman (Williams) Sr. - Minnetonka, Minn.

F - Meghan Gillis (Bowdoin) Fy. - Whycocomagh, N.S.

Bill Mandigo (Middlebury)