Women’s Golf Heads to National Championships at Mission Inn

Women’s Golf Heads to National Championships at Mission Inn

HOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS, Fla. – Amherst College will be one of 25 teams competing at the 2018 NCAA Division III women's golf championships, which will take place from May 8-11 at Mission Inn Resort and Club.

Oglethorpe University and Central Florida Sports Commission will serve as the hosts of the event, which will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently.

Nineteen conferences have been granted automatic qualification and the remaining six teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent institutions. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships.

A team built for the future, Amherst College is led by its captain and lone senior Zoe Wong. The rest of the group that will represent the Mammoths at nationals includes junior Kate Weiss, sophomore Morgan Yurosek and first years Isabelle Ouyang and Lily Worden.

Ouyang was named the 2017 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Rookie of the Year, and went on to claim individual honors at the Leaman Invitational, won by the host Mammoths.

Yurosek, the runner-up at the Ann S. Batchelder Invitational, and Wong (3 top-ten finishes in the fall) also represented Amherst on the NESCAC All-Conference team.

Head Coach Elizabeth Davis was selected by her colleagues as the NESCAC Coach of the Year.

Following 54 holes of competition, the NCAA championships field will be cut to the top 15 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams to compete the final day.  In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team's total score.

Here is the complete list of competing schools:

1.           George Fox University

2.           Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps

3.           New York University

4.           Williams College

5.           Whitman College

6.           Methodist University

7.           Washington University in St. Louis

8.           Berry College

9.           DePauw University

10.         Carnegie Mellon University

11.         Washington and Lee University

12.         Carleton College

13.         University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

14.         Amherst College

15.         Illinois Wesleyan University

16.         Transylvania University

17.         Saint Mary's College (Indiana)

18.         University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

19.         Wartburg College

20.         University of Mount Union

21.         Alvernia University

22.         Gettysburg College

23.         The College of St. Scholastica

24.         Concordia University (Wisconsin)

25.         Saint Vincent College


In 2017, Rhodes College won its third NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship in program history by two strokes and their third in the last four years with a combined score of 1,217 at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston, Texas. Runner-up honors went to George Fox University (1,219).  Wittenberg University was third with a 1,229 team total. Bridgewater University (Virginia) junior Christina Herbert earned medalist honors with a two-shot victory over Macy Hubbard from Wittenberg.