Mammoths Earn Two Major Awards, Land Three All Conference Golfers

Mammoths Earn Two Major Awards, Land Three All Conference Golfers

HADLEY, Mass. – The Amherst College women's golf team had four individuals honored and claimed a pair of major award winners as the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) announced the 2017 Women's Golf All Conference Teams on Wednesday afternoon.

Isabelle Ouyang '21 was selected by a vote of the league coaches as Rookie of the Year, while Elizabeth Davis was named Coach of the Year.

Joining Ouyang on the First Team was Morgan Yurosek '20, while Zoe Wong '18 was named as a Second Team selection.

Ouyang is the second consecutive Mammoth to earn Rookie of the Year, joining Yurosek, who won the award a year ago. She finished second at the George Phinney Golf Classic by shooting a 157, and has also carded three additional top-ten finishes this season.

Yurosek follows up on her outstanding Rookie Year by moving up to the All-NESCAC First Team. Yurosek was the runner-up at the Ann S. Batchelder Invitational, where she carded a 151, and has placed in the top five in two other competitions.

Wong gets her first All-NESCAC honor in her senior year after placing ninth with a 156 at the Batchelder Invitational and finishing ninth in two other events.

In just her second season as head coach, Davis was tabbed by her colleagues as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the first time. Davis led Amherst to top three finishes in all of their events this fall, including team champion titles in the George Phinney Golf Classic and the Ann S. Batchelder Invitational.

The Mammoths also finished as runners-up to Williams College in the 2017 NESCAC Championship.