Standout Sophomores Earn D3Hoops All-Region Accolades

Standout Sophomores Earn D3Hoops All-Region Accolades

AMHERST, Mass. – Sophomores Madeline Eck and Hannah Fox were recognized as All-Region selections from the Northeast as the website released their 2018 All-Region teams on Tuesday morning.

Both New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) First Team selections, Eck was named to the D3Hoops First Team, while Fox garnered a Second Team nod.

Eck is the leading scorer on the No. 1 ranked Mammoths squad, which heads to Rochester, Minnesota tomorrow to play in their third consecutive Final Four. She averages 12.0 points per game and shoots a team-best 46.5% from the floor. Eck has grabbed 5.2 rebounds per game and handed out 2.5 assists. She is currently on an eight-game streak of scoring in double-figures, which includes four NCAA Tournament games and all three games of the NESCAC Tournament, when she was named Player of the Week, a de-facto Tournament MVP.

Fox is the top three-point shooter (36.4%) and the starting point guard in every game this season, averaging 11.4 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. Fox, who is also averaging two assists and 1.7 steals per contest, recorded a double-double with eleven points and ten rebounds in Amherst's sectional Finals win over Rochester.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at their schools. There were more than 680 players nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region. 

As members of the All-Region team, Eck and Fox are now eligible for All-American selection. The men's All-American team will be announced at the end of this week, in conjunction with the Division III men's championships, and the women's will be announced in the week following the Division III women's semifinals.

This is the 17th year has named an All-Region team and this year's All-America team will be the 21st annual All-American selections. The All-American teams, along with those of the respective coaches' associations, are the only ones recognized in the NCAA record book.