Men's Tennis

2017-18 RECORD: 12-7; NESCAC: 4-3; NR: 7 NCAA NATIONAL TITLES: 2 (2011, '14) NESCAC TITLES: 6 (1990-92, 2011-12, '14)

Men's Tennis Lands DIII-Leading 13 on ITA Scholar Athlete Team

Men's Tennis Lands DIII-Leading 13 on ITA Scholar Athlete Team

>ITA All-Academic Team/Scholar Athlete Release

TEMPE, Ariz. –The Amherst College men's tennis team has been named a 2017 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team and has placed a Division-III-leading 13 student-athletes on the ITA Scholar Athlete squad, as announced by the organization Wednesday. 

To garner ITA All-Academic Team honors a program must own a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or higher for the 2016-17 academic year.  In order to attain ITA Scholar Athlete status, a player must be a varsity letter winner, boast a GPA of 3.50 or higher for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present institution for at least two semesters.

Leading the nation alongside Johns Hopkins University who also captured 13 selections, a notable 13 of the 17 Mammoths on the men's tennis roster earned Scholar Athlete recognition.  

Four first-years and five sophomores claimed the distinction, including Jayson Fung '20, Nathan Kaplan '20, Chris Paradis '20, Josh Marchalik '20, Jesse Levitin '19, Cameron Raglin '19, Justin Sun '19, Jon Heidenberg '19 and Zach Bessette '19, while Ben Birkenfeld '18, Sam Silver '17, Myles Tang '17 and Anton Zykov '17 represented the Amherst upperclassmen.

57 student-athletes representing nine NESCAC schools were named ITA Scholar Athletes, with 44 additional honorees coming from Bates (2), Bowdoin (4), Connecticut College (1), Hamilton (8), Middlebury (11), Trinity (7), Wesleyan (4) and Williams (7).