Jeffs Best Springfield, 170-124

Jeffs Best Springfield, 170-124

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Amherst College men's swimming & diving team posted a 170-124 victory over Springfield College on Sunday afternoon in Springfield, Mass. 

With the win, Amherst improves to 5-2 on the season. 

The 200-yard medley "A" relay team of Matthew Heise '16, Elijah Spiro '18, Tyler Hampton '15, and Connor Sholtis '15 won the event with a time of 1:36.56, while the Jeffs' "B" squad of Michael Rochford '15, Nick Lafky '17, Sam Spurrell '18, and Vic Sum '16 clocked a time of 1:39.52 to place second in the race.

Gregory Han '17 and Alex Kang '15 finished first and second in the 200-yard individual medley with respective times of 1:59.27 and 2:03.99; while Sun, John Brody '17 and Ben Grimes '15 finished first, second and third in the 200-yard freestyle with times of 1:46.86, 1:47.93, and 1:48.61. 

Rochford and Spurrell finished first and second in the 50-yard backstroke with respective times of 24.79 and 25.59, while Spiro and Lafky tabbed first and third place marks in teh 50-yard breaststroke with times of 27.16 and 28.13. 

Heise won the 100-yard butterfly (53.04) and John Janezich placed third in the event with a time of 55.40. Sholtis, Hampton and Jeff Anderson '16 followed with first, second and third in teh 50-yard freestyle with respective times of 21.96, 22.47 and 22.52. 

Sholtis and Brody finished first and third in the 100-yard freestyle with times of 47.17 and 49.55, while Spurrell added a top finish in the 100-yard backstroke (1:07.57). Keegan Simmons '17 chipped in a second place finish in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:01.56. 

Anderson (4:51.86), Sun (4:59.77), and Lafky (5:00.18) claimed the top three spots in the 500-yard freestyle, while Hampton and Spurrell placed first and third in the 50-yard butterfly (24.13 and 24.68 respectively). 

Asher Lichtig '16 finished second in the 3-meter diving event with 257.56 points, and added a second place mark in the 1-meter diving with 221.48 points. 

Amherst returns to action at the NESCAC Championships hosted by Middlebury on Friday-Sunday, Feb. 20-22.