Men's Swimming & Diving Turns Away Union

Idleman3 Contact: Ben Badua

AMHERST, Mass. - Amherst's first-years accounted for wins in eight individual events to propel the men's swimming and diving team to a decisive 232-66 victory over Union.

Asher Litchtig '16 led the Jeffs' youth movement, posting the top score in the 3-meter (327.52) and 1-meter (317.47) dives, while making the NCAA "B" cut in both events.

Amherst's Conor Deveney '15, Alex Kang '15, Matt Heise '16 and Connor Sholtis '15 got the home team on the board with a first-place finish in the 200 medley relay (1:37.51), before Aron Reynolds '14, Conor McAuliffe '14 and Parker Moody '14 took the top three spots in the 400 IM.

Nick Egan '14 kept things rolling for the Jeffs by edging out Union's Zach Wahl '13 in the 200 freestyle, while Matt Heise '16 logged the fastest time in the 100 back (53.16). Fellow first-years Tom Zhang and Jeff Anderson made it two in a row for the rookies with the top times in the 100-yard breaststroke, before Sam Stewart '16 touched in nearly three seconds ahead (1:57.15) of Union's Matt Wahl '13 in the 200 butterfly. 

After Connor Sholtis '15 secured another Jeff victory in the 50-free, Amherst's divers put forth a strong showing in the 3-meter. Finishing second to Lichtig, Colin White '14 turned in an NCAA "B" cut score of 302.10, while Mark Idleman '14 rounded out the top three with a 275.62.

Connor Deveney '15 and Tyler Hampton '15 then finished one-two in the 100 free, before classmate Michael Rochford took the 200 back with a time of 1:58.27. First-year Steven Goldberg paced the field in the 200 breast (2:16.27), before Ben Grimes '15 continued the Jeffs' string of consecutive victories with a time of 4:48.73 in the 500 free.

Following Anderson's first-place 52.15 in the 100 fly, Amherst's divers once again took center stage, recording the top three scores in the 1-meter event. Finishing as the runner-up, Idleman made the NCAA "B" cut with a score of 294.75, while White also surpassed the benchmark with a 279.97. 

Rishi Kowalski '16 handed in the final win for the first-years with a time of 2:00.08 in the 200 IM, before Sebastian Cruz '16, Robbie Homchick '14, Egan and Tyler Bulakul '14 closed out Amherst's clean sweep of events with a triumph in the 200 free relay (1:27.96).

The Lord Jeffs return to action on Saturday, Jan. 5 against archrival Williams.