Jeffs Tie Program Record with 12 All-NESCAC Honorees

AMHERST, MA – Twelve Amherst College student-athletes combined for 32 All-NESCAC honors when the 2010-11 Men's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Team was announced today. The top three finishers in each event at the 2011 NESCAC Championship received All-Conference recognition.

Amherst tied the program record for All-NESCAC honorees, as the 2005-06 squad also placed 12 students on the All-Conference Team. The Lord Jeffs led all schools at this year's championship meet by winning eight of 24 events, marking the third consecutive year they have won at least one-third of the individual titles. Williams won six events this year and placed 11 students on the All-NESCAC Team. 

Alex Fraser '11 (Willowbrook, IL) racked up another six All-Conference honors—all first place finishes—to bring his career total to 27, as he was named the Four-Year High Point Swimmer. He continued his dominance of the freestyle events by winning the 100, 200 and 500, also swimming the final leg of three relay teams. Fellow senior Reid Fitzgerald '11 (New York, NY) added five All-NESCAC honors in his final championship meet, placing among the top three in all three backstroke events. 

Ben McBratney '12 (Evanston, IL) and Ryan Lichtenfels '12 (McLean, VA) each put in four All-Conference performances last weekend, with Tim White '12 (Centerport, NY) and Bart Federak '12 (Towaco, NJ) combining for three to round out the junior class. Daniel Schwab '13 (San Diego, CA) finished second in the 200-yard backstroke to represent Amherst's sophomores on the All-NESCAC Team. 

Amherst's first-years had an exceptional meet, with Conor McAuliffe '14 (Andover, MA) winning the 1,000-yard freestyle and placing third in the 500, while Connor Beaulieu '14 (Windsor, CT) finished third in the 200- and 400-yard individual medleys. Tyler Bulakul '14 (Bangkok, Thailand) was part of the winning 200- and 400-yard medley relays, Parker Moody '14 (Watertown, CT) helped the Jeffs win the 800 free relay, and Colin White '14 (Evanston, IL) was the runner-up in each diving event.

Visit the NESCAC website for a complete list of this year's All-NESCAC honorees.

Alex Fraser 
100 Free (1st)
200 Free (1st)
500 Free (1st)
200 Medley Relay (1st)
400 Medley Relay (1st)
800 Free Relay (1st)

Reid Fitzgerald
50 Back (2nd)
100 Back (3rd)
200 Back (3rd)
200 Medley Relay (1st)
400 Medley Relay (1st)

Ben McBratney
50 Breast (3rd)
100 Breast (2nd)
200 Medley Relay (1st)
400 Medley Relay (1st)

Ryan Lichtenfels
200 IM (2nd)
400 IM (2nd)
1,650 Free (1st)
800 Free Relay (1st)

Bart Federak 
200 Breast (3rd)

Tim White
1,650 Free (2nd)
800 Free Relay (1st)

Daniel Schwab 
200 Back (2nd)

Conor McAuliffe
500 Free (3rd)
1,000 Free (1st)

Colin White
1-Meter Dive (2nd)
3-Meter Dive (2nd)

Connor Beaulieu 
200 IM (3rd)
400 IM (3rd)

Parker Moody 
800 Free Relay (1st)

Tyler Bulakul 
200 Medley Relay (1st)
400 Medley Relay (1st)

4-Year High Point
 Alex Fraser