Thirteen Mammoths Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Thirteen Mammoths Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

NFF Official Release

IRVING, Texas -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) has announced the members of the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. 

Amherst College was one of twenty-two schools with at least ten honorees, as the Mammoths saw 13 Senior student-athletes post the requisite career GPA to earn the accolade. 

Here are the members of the Amherst College football team who were selected to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society: 

Jack Barrett, LB, Environmental Studies

Bo Berluti, WR, Economics

John Callahan, LB, Economics

Drew DeNoble, DL, Economics/Political Science

Jack Griffiths, OL, Economics

Will Kelsch, WR, Economics/Environmental Studies

Brantley Mayers, OL, Political Science

Rob Needham, DL, Economics

John Rak, DB, Math/Physics

Andrew Sommer, LB, Asian Languages and Civilizations/Computer Science

Cole Stephens, DB, Computer Science/Philosophy

Jack Tyrrell, OL, Economics

Andrew Yamin, DL, History 

Griffiths, Mayers, Rak, Sommer, and Stephens all were recognized by the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) as All-Academic, requiring a GPA of at least 3.50.

An all-time high of 1,643 players from a record 424 schools qualified for membership in the Society's 13th year.

"We are pleased to see another record number of athletes honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "For more than a decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 778 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide. 

The 1,643 players honored in 2019 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,274 honorees in 2018. The 424 schools represented breaks the previous mark of 308 set in 2018. 

The initiative has now honored 10,660 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007. 

Twenty-two schools had at least 10 honorees in 2019, including Amherst (MA), Brown, Carroll (WI), Central (IA), Dayton, Drake, Harvard, Johns Hopkins (MD), Macalester (MN), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska Wesleyan, Ohio Northern, Pacific Lutheran (WA), Pomona-Pitzer (CA), Princeton, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (NY), Saint John's (MN), Springfield (MA), Washington Univ. in St. Louis (MO), Western New England (MA) and Westfield State (MA).

Division III's Saint John's (MN) led all schools in 2019 with 20 honorees. Brigham Young and Vanderbilt led all FBS schools with seven members each while Harvard topped the FCS with 16 honorees. Minnesota Duluth was the Division II leader with 10 members and Doane (NE) had the most honorees in the NAIA with nine.