Yamin Named All-America Following Stellar Senior Season

Yamin Named All-America Following Stellar Senior Season

WACO, Tex. – Defensive star Andrew Yamin '19 has been selected to the 2018 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Division III All-America Team, announced by the organization on Monday morning.

Yamin was named to the AFCA Second Team defense at the position of linebacker. He is the only player on the teams from the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) and one of just two players from New England, joining two-time All-America defensive lineman Nick Girogio of Springfield College.

This is the first All-America selection for Yamin, who plays the position of Buck, a hybrid of defensive end and linebacker, and the first All-America selection for Amherst (8-1) since 2015.

The 2018 NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, Yamin has already been selected to the D3Football.com All East Region team, and the New England Football Writers Division II/III All-Star Team.

Yamin was the NESCAC leader in sacks with 9.5 this season. He added 46 tackles, including 17 for loss. This is the second straight year he has led the conference in sacks in a senior campaign that included a 3.5 sack performance against Middlebury and an eight tackle, 1.5 sack effort on the road at Trinity.

In a 32-game career, Yamin has racked up 166 total tackles, including 28 sacks and 56.5 tackles for a loss. Last season he set the Amherst College football program record with 13.5 sacks in a season while also forcing two fumbles.

He and the class of 2019 have compiled a 27-7 record, won the 2015 NESCAC championship with a perfect season, and have beaten Williams three out of the last four years.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. The AFCA's Division III All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA's eight districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts prior to a conference call between the district chairmen and the committee chairman on which the team is chosen.

The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen.

From 1967 through 1971, two teams – University Division and College Division – were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — Division I-A and Division I-AA.

In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively. The AFCA began selecting an NAIA-only team in 2006. Also in 2006, the Division I-A and Division I-AA teams were renamed Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), respectively.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006. In 2016, the AFCA added a second team All-America.

Members of the AFCA Coaches' All-America First Team will receive a plaque commemorating their selection to the team, while members of the Second Team will receive a certificate.