Yamin Named Semifinalist for NFF Campbell Trophy

Yamin Named Semifinalist for NFF Campbell Trophy

AMHERST, Mass. – Amherst College senior defensive lineman Andrew Yamin has been named a semifinalist for the 2018 William V. Campbell Trophy.

Awarded by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, the William V. Campbell Trophy recognizes the top football scholar-athlete in the nation. Nominated by their schools, candidates for the award must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Yamin, a History major with a 3.48 GPA, has played in 25 games in his Amherst career and is a team captain for his senior season. A two-time New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Academic selection, Yamin was the 2017 Defensive Player of the Year in the conference and earned All-Region recognition from D3Football.com. He was selected as the 2017 Joseph P. Zabilski Award Winner as the Top DII/DIII Defensive Player in New England by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

The 2017 NESCAC leader with 13.5 sacks and 21.5 tackles for a loss, Yamin worked as a Business Analyst with RxSense in Boston during the 2018 summer. Coming into the year, he was selected as a Player to Watch by College Football America.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 31, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 60th NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4. During the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 29th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000. Click here for the complete list of semifinalists.