10 Named to All-NESCAC Teams, Yamin Earns Defensive Player of Year Nod

10 Named to All-NESCAC Teams, Yamin Earns Defensive Player of Year Nod


HADLEY, Mass. – Junior defensive end Andrew Yamin '19 was named the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year and the Amherst College football team landed 10 student-athletes on the All-Conference teams, as announced Tuesday by the league office.

Offensive lineman Kevin Sheehan '18 and running back Jack Hickey '19 were both named First Team Offense, while Avery Saffold '20 and Nate Tyrell '19 join Yamin as selections on First Team Defense. For their efforts this season, running back Hasani Figueroa '18, wide receiver James O'Regan '20 and offensive lineman Mitch Arthur '18 earned Second Team Offense honors, while defensive lineman Gregg Franklin '20 and linebacker Andrew Sommer '19 secured Second Team Defense praise. 

Highlighting the list All-Conference honorees for Amherst is Yamin, who became the fourth Mammoth in program history to receive the NESCAC Defensive Player of the year honor, and second player in three years, joins Pat McGee (2001), Michael Taylor (2009), and Jimmy Fairfield-Sonn (2015) as recipients of the honor. A native of Cheshire, Conn., Yamin registered a league-leading 13.5 sacks – second among the all-time NESCAC single season records – in a dominant junior campaign. In addition to two forced fumbles, he also tallied a conference-high 21.5 tackles for loss (109 yards), and chipped in 38 solo tackles to total 54 tackles on the year. 

The lone rusher inside the top-five in the league with no fumbles on the season, Hickey garners First Team honors after amasses 603 yards on the year and averaging 71.1 yards per game on the ground to rank fifth in the league in both categories. Averaging 6.0 yards per carry and notching nine TD's, Hickey ranked second in the NESCAC, in addition to catching four passes for 23 yards. 

Sheehan was the final Mammoth on the First Team Offense, with the senior guard leading the Amherst offensive line corps. A native of Medway, Mass., Sheehan proved to be a key component of an Amherst run game that led the league in rushing touchdowns (20) and accumulated 1,607 rushing yards, averaging 178.6 yards per game on the ground.

Saffold and Tyrell round out Amherst's First Team selections, with the defensive back duo named to the First Team Defense after impressive seasons defending the goal line. In addition to being the main punt returner for the Mammoths, Saffold tallied 20 tackles, including 17 solo, and netted a fumble recovery and six pass breakups to rank tied for ninth in the NESCAC. A native of Brooklyn, N.Y., Tyrell finished out his junior season with 27 total tackles, including 18 solo, a fumble recovery and interception, while also chipping in three pass breakups and a blocked field goal. 

Named Second Team Offense, Figueroa ranked second on the Mammoths in total rushing yards, logging 457 yards on 100 carriers. Part of a potent one-two punch for Amherst, the Bronx, N.Y. native averaged 50.8 yards per game and 4.6 yards per carry to find the end zone three times in his senior season.

O'Regan earns his first All-League nod following a breakout sophomore season in which he tallied a Amherst-high 676 receiving yards to rank fifth in the league. Hauling in 39 passes to average 4.3 receptions per game and 75.1 yards per game, O'Regan averaged 17.3 yards per catch and totaled six touchdowns to rank tied for fourth in the NESCAC.

Mitch Arthur secures an All-NESCAC honor following a stellar senior season that saw the Old Tappan, N.J. native provide shut down blocking for a Mammoths' O-line that allowed just 13 sacks all fall, including none in a 40-7 rout of Colby, and aided a rushing corps that totaled 1607 yards.

Capturing the final two All-NESCAC selections are Second Team Defense honorees Sommer and Franklin. Tied for 10th in the league in tackles in 2017, Sommer led the Mammoths with 68.0 tackles, including 50 solo and 6.5 tackles for loss, and racked up five sacks, one forced fumble, two fumble recoveries, an interception and three pass breakups.  A defensive lineman, Franklin earns the accolade following a consistent 24.0 tackle year, including 18 solo stops.