Mike Samela '12 Named to NEIBA All-New England Team

AMHERST, MA – Amherst College sophomore catcher Mike Samela (Westport, CT) has been named to the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) All-New England Division III Baseball Third Team, the organization announced today. 

Fifty-two players from 27 New England schools were named to the NEIBA First, Second or Third Team. Samela is one of 10 NESCAC student-athletes to earn the All-Region honor and is the first Amherst player to be recognized since 2008. 

Only four catchers were honored by the NEIBA, as Samela used a breakout sophomore season to establish himself as one of the region's top players at his position. In addition to throwing out nine base runners and stealing 13 bags of his own, Samela batted .381 and became the first player in Amherst history to hit at least five doubles, five triples and five home runs in a season. His .753 slugging percentage is the second highest mark in program history and currently ranks fourth in the NESCAC. 

James Wood '10 of Trinity College was named the region's Player of the Year, while Tufts University's Chris DeGoti '12 and Wheaton College's Nolan Corr '12 shared Pitcher of the Year honors. John Casey of Tufts was named Coach of the Year for leading the Jumbos to the conference title and NCAA Tournament. 

For more information on Samela's 2010 season, read about his selection to this year's All-NESCAC First Team. The 2010 NEIBA All-New England Division III Baseball Team honorees are listed below.


First Team
C – Tim Fontaine, Jr., UMass Boston
1B – Joe Griglun, Sr., Western New England
2B – Ryan Walsh, Jr., UMass Boston
3B – Jonathan Melendez, Sr., Johnson & Wales
SS – Anthony Pisani, So., Southern Maine
OF – Bobby Doyon, Jr. Keene State
OF – Todd Keneborus, Jr., St. Joseph's (ME)
OF – Al Mathews, Sr., Williams
OF – James Wood, Sr., Trinity
DH – Corey McDonald, Jr., Worcester State
UT – Jim Schult, Jr., Eastern Connecticut
P – Chris DeGoti, So., Tufts
P – James Dalton, So., UMass Boston
P – Nolan Corr, So., Wheaton
P – Jon Shepard, Sr., Wheaton

Second Team
C – Brad Hawn, Jr., Curry
1B – Mike Eaton, Jr., Southern Maine
2B – John Parke, Sr., Eastern Connecticut
2B – Frank Petroskey, Jr., Tufts
3B – Dan Haugh, So., Wheaton
3B – Melvin Castillo, Sr., Eastern Connecticut
SS – Alex Melcher, Jr., Salve Regina
OF – Tim Sweeney, Sr., Curry
OF – Jeff Scafidi, So., Anna Maria
OF – Drew Tambling, Sr., UMass Boston
OF – Mark McCormack, So., UMass Boston

Second Team (continued)

DH – Collin Henry, Sr., Southern Maine
UT – Gary Levesque, Jr., Rhode Island College
P – Sam Murray, So., St. Joseph's (ME)
P – Ken Cook, Sr., Castleton State
P – Kevin Hayes, Sr., Worcester State
P – Mike Lawlor, So., Western New England
P – Matt Rogers, Sr., Western New England

Third Team
C – Mike Samela, So., Amherst
C – Jason Leclerc, Jr., Western New England
1B – Noah Lynd, Jr., Bates
2B – Ryan Zielinski, Fr., Castleton
3B – Sam Sager, So., Tufts
SS – Ethan Guerette, Jr., Husson
SS – Travis Bass, Sr., Eastern Connecticut
OF – Jeff Fields, Sr., Westfield State
OF – Julian Sonnenfeld, Jr., Wesleyan
OF – Darrik Marstaller, Fr., Daniel Webster
OF – Brendan Garner, Jr., Bowdoin
OF – Matt Sullivan, Sr., Trinity
DH – Kevin Lyons, Sr., Westfield State
UT – Pat Moran, Sr., St. Joseph's (ME)
P – Ryan Arsenault, Jr., Husson
P – Tyler Vieira, Fr., Coast Guard
P – Cory Moore, Sr., Curry
P – Jeremy Chapman, Sr., Mitchell
P – Kevin Jefferis, Fr., Western New England