NESCAC Statement of Common Admission Practices

The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) includes 11 of the finest liberal arts colleges and universities in the United States. The conference enjoys a long tradition of success both in meeting high standards of athletic performance and in helping every student realize his or her full capabilities.

NESCAC is committed first and foremost to academic excellence, and has established common practices to keep athletics strong and in proportion to the academic mission of the member institutions. Admission offices work closely with athletic departments to ensure that students on all intercollegiate NESCAC teams are representative of each institution’s student body and are admitted with the expectation of their full participation in the life of the college.

Student-athletes applying to NESCAC institutions should be aware that, although each college has its own distinct admission process and requirements, the following guidelines have been agreed to by all 11 members regarding all candidates for admission:

  • All admission decisions are rendered and delivered in writing by the admission office only. Any communication regarding the status of admission decisions conveyed by non-admission personnel should be considered preliminary, unofficial, and subject to change.
  • No admission decisions, including an Early Decision, will be made until the candidate’s application is complete and all necessary supporting documentation has been received.
  • By NCAA and conference policy, there are no athletic scholarships awarded at NESCAC institutions. Financial aid awards are offered in writing only by the institution’s financial aid office and not before the student has been admitted. Institutions may not provide written or oral financial aid evaluations to prospective students prior to being admitted.
  • All NESCAC institutions have an Early Decision Round One option with a mid-December notification date. All NESCAC institutions except Amherst and Williams have an Early Decision Round Two option with a notification period between February 1 and February 15. All NESCAC institutions have a late March-early April Regular Decision notification period.

Member institutions include Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University and Williams College.