NESCAC Announces Fall 2019 All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship Teams

NESCAC Announces Fall 2019 All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship Teams

HADLEY, Mass. – Sixty-six Amherst College student-athletes were named to the 2019 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Fall All-Academic team on Tuesday morning for their success in the classroom, while eight Mammoths were recognized for their dedication to sportsmanship and named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50. Transfer students must have completed one year of study at the institution. 

Of the 668 student-athletes named to the team, 179 were honored for the second time in their career, while 154 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 63 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this fall, led by 18 student-athletes from both Middlebury. A total of 42 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Fall NESCAC All-Academic Team    > Fall NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

Eighteen Mammoths were selected All-Academic for the third consecutive season, while 22 others were two-times All-Academic honorees.

The 2019 Fall All-Academic Team includes three NESCAC Players of the Year, a NESCAC Football Offensive Player of the Year, a NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, and a NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer.

Of Amherst's 66 All-Academic honorees, eight were also honored as All-Conference selections in their respective sports. Cross country runner Spencer Ferguson-Dryden '20, football players Dan Papa '20, and Joe Kelly '21 and field hockey student-athletes Sophia Kaplan '22 and Beth Williamson '22 were all represented on both teams. Kim Zhou '22 and Bella Palma '20 represented women's soccer on each team, as did volleyball middle blocker Sophie Launsbach '22.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. It recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. 

A pair of Amherst All-Sportsmanship selections were also named All-Conference for their sports. Emily Kolsky '20 (women's volleyball) and Spencer Davis '22 (men's cross country) each earned the Sportsmanship nod to go with their athletic accolades. Joining them on the 2019 All-Sportsmanship Team are Henry Atkeson '20 (football), Courtney Lowe '21 (field hockey), Maya Bhandari '20 (women's cross country), Will Dunne '20 (men's soccer) and Hayley Roy '20 (women's soccer).

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements. 

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.