Amherst Places 111 Student-Athletes on All-Academic Team, Eight Named All-Sportsmanship Selections

Amherst Places 111 Student-Athletes on All-Academic Team, Eight Named All-Sportsmanship Selections

NESCAC All-Academic Release

NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Release


HADLEY, Mass. - Last Friday, 111 Amherst College student-athletes were named to the 2019 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Winter All-Academic team for their success in the classroom, while eight Mammoths were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50. Transfer students must have completed one year of study at the institution. 

Amherst had the third most players of the 11 NESCAC institutions, trailing behind only Middlebury (122) and Williams (115). Of the 864 student-athletes named to the team, 315 were honored for the second time in their career, while 225 were recognized for the third time. These numbers are slightly lower than previous years as 2018 is the first time that 3.50 has been the minimum grade point average, with previous years using 3.40 as the cutoff. 

With 16 honorees, Amherst leads the group of 59 student-athletes who garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this winter. A total of 36 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Five individuals were selected to all three squads, including Hannah Fox of Amherst women's basketball. This was Fox's second year being named to the All-NESCAC and the All-Academic squads. It is her first time being honored for her sportsmanship. 

The 2019 Winter All-Academic Team includes four NESCAC Players of the Year, a NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, and a NESCAC Diver of the Year.

Amherst's Lindsey Ruderman '21 (Durham, N.C.) was selected as the NESCAC Women's Diver of the Year for the second year in a row after winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events at the 2019 NESCAC Championships. The sophomore earned runner-up finishes from both boards at the 2019 NCAA Diving Regional Championships to qualify for the NCAA Championship for the second consecutive season. 

Four Mammoths who received First Team honors also earned All-Academic recognition: senior Jocelyn Hunyadi (women's ice hockey), juniors Madeline Eck (women's basketball) and Joey Lupo (men's ice hockey), and sophomore Terrance Wang (men's squash). Senior Harith Khawaja (men's squash) earned both All-Academic and Second Team honors as well. 

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. It recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. 

Three of the eight Amherst student-athletes named to the All-Sportsmanship team were also recognized for their excellence in the classroom. In addition to Fox, CJ Bachmann '19 (men's basketball) and Bobby Shogren '19 (men's swimming & diving) received both honors. Bachmann and Shogren were named to the 2018 All-Sportsmanship team last winter as well. 

Also representing Amherst on the All-Sportsmanship Team are Keeley Osborn '22 (women's squash), Jack Fitzgerald '19 (men's ice hockey), Hanna Sanford '21 (women's swimming & diving), Laura Schmidlein '19 (women's ice hockey), and Charlie Sutherby '22 (men's squash). 

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements. 

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.