NESCAC Announces Fall 2018 All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship Teams

NESCAC Announces Fall 2018 All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship Teams

HADLEY, Mass. - Seventy-five Amherst College student-athletes were named to the 2018 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Fall All-Academic team this Wednesday for their success in the classroom, while eight Mammoths were recognized for their dedication to sportsmanship and named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50. Transfer students must have completed one year of study at the institution. 

Out of the 11 NESCAC institutions, Amherst trailed only Middlebury (84) honorees, with Bowdoin (74) and Williams (73) just behind. These numbers are slightly lower than previous years as 2018 is the first time that 3.50 has been the minimum grade point average, with previous years using 3.40 as the cutoff. 

Of the 636 student-athletes named to the team, 230 were honored for the second time in their career, while 149 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 39 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this fall, led by 11 student-athletes from both Middlebury and Tufts. A total of 39 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams. 

Fall NESCAC All-Academic Team    > Fall NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

Three individuals were selected to all three squads, including Tucker Meijer of Amherst men's cross country. Meijer was selected to the NESCAC Second Team this fall for the second year in a row. It is also his second year being named to the All-Academic team, and his first time being honored for his sportsmanship. 

The 2018 Fall All-Academic Team includes three NESCAC Players of the Year, a NESCAC Offensive Player of the Year, and a NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer. 

Four Mammoths who received First Team honors also earned All-Academic recognition: seniors Cosmo Brossy (men's cross country) and Jack Griffiths (football) and juniors Morgan Yurosek (women's golf) and Clark Ricciardelli (men's cross country). Six more Amherst student-athletes who were selected to the All-Academic team merited placement on the Second Team in their respective sports: Caleigh Plaut '19 (women's soccer), Bella Palma '20 (women's soccer), Tucker Meijer '20 (men's cross country), Charlotte Duran '20 (women's volleyball), Joe Kelly '21 (football), and Andrew Sommer '19 (football). 

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. It recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. 

The majority of the eight Amherst student-athletes named to the All-Sportsmanship team were also recognized for their excellence in the classroom. In addition to Meijer, four other Mammoths earned All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic accolades. Megan Shea '19 (field hockey), Sean Fitzgerald '19 (men's soccer), Megan Root '19 (women's soccer), and Hayes Honea '19 (volleyball), all received both honors. 

Also representing Amherst on the All-Sportsmanship Team are Katie Mina Lee '22 (women's golf), Kristin Ratliff '20 (women's cross country), and Biafra Okoronkwo '20 (football). 

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements. 

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.