NESCAC Announces 2018 Spring All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship Honorees

NESCAC Announces 2018 Spring All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship Honorees

HADLEY, Mass. – 107 Amherst College student-athletes were honored for excellence in the classroom when the NESCAC announced its 2018 spring All-Academic Team Wednesday afternoon, while nine others were named to the conference's All-Sportsmanship Team.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.40. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

The Mammoths had the fifth most players of any institution in the league. Of the 1,163 total student-athletes named to the team, 374 were honored for the second time in their career, while 230 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 156 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this spring, led by 32 student-athletes from Williams. A total of 72 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Spring NESCAC All-Academic Team    > Spring NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

The 2018 Spring All-Academic Team includes one NESCAC Player of the Year, two Pitchers of the Year, and two Defensive Players of the Year.

Amherst's Sabrina Solow '19 (Madison, N.J.) was selected as the NESCAC Women's Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year. The junior is tied for second among the league-leaders in caused turnovers (36) and leads the league in ground balls with 48 on the year. Solow, who has helped Amherst advance to the third round of the NCAA Tournament, earned First Team honors after being selected to the second team a year ago. This is her second NESCAC All-Academic honor after earning the recognition in 2017.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. It recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. 

Amherst is represented on the All-Sportsmanship teams by Rob Casey '20 (baseball), Scout Boynton '20 (softball), Ian Kadish '18 (men's lacrosse), Kaitlyn Haase '19 (women's lacrosse), Sean Wei '21 (men's tennis), Vickie Ip '18 (women's tennis), Jay Drain Jr. '18 (men's track & field), Adele Loomis '18 (women's track & field) and Dan Langa '18 (men's golf).

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements.

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.