NESCAC Announces 2017 Fall Academic and Sportsmanship Honorees

NESCAC Announces 2017 Fall Academic and Sportsmanship Honorees

HADLEY, Mass. – Eighty-three Amherst College student-athletes were honored for excellence in the classroom when the NESCAC announced its 2017 fall All-Academic Team Wednesday afternoon, while eight others were named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.40. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

The Mammoths had the third most players of any institution in the league, behind only Middlebury (102) and Williams (96). Of the 759 total student-athletes named to the team, 252 were honored for the second time in their career, while 131 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 78 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this fall, led by 15 student-athletes from Middlebury. A total of 42 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Fall NESCAC All-Academic Team    > Fall NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team

The 2017 Fall All-Academic Team includes four NESCAC Players of the Year, a NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, and a NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer. 

Amherst junior defensive end Andrew Yamin (Cheshire, Conn.) earned NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year recognition in football after leading the NESCAC in sacks (13.5) and tackles for loss (21.5 - 109 yards). Yamin earns NESCAC All-Academic honors for the second time in his career. 

Amherst senior runner Nicky Roberts (North Reading, Mass.) was named the NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer after winning the 2017 NESCAC Women's Cross Country Championship. Roberts was runner-up at the NCAA New England Regional and placed fifth overall at the NCAA Division III Cross Country Championship. Roberts has earned NESCAC All-Academic recognition each year she has been eligible.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport, and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. It recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. 

Headlining the list of All-Sportsmanship honorees is senior volleyball player Marialexa Natsis (Los Angeles, Calif.), who also earned All-NESCAC honors this fall. 

Zoe Wong '18, an All-NESCAC women's golf honoree earlier this fall, earned her second All-Sportsmanship honor after being tabbed in 2016, while NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer and First Team honoree Mohamed Hussein '18 (Hargeisa, Somaliland) of Amherst also features on the men's cross country All-Sportsmanship squad.

Also representing Amherst on the All-Sportsmanship Team are  Veronica Rocco '19 (women's cross country); Debbie Newmark '19 (field hockey); Craig Carmilani '18 (football); Aziz Khan '18 (men's soccer) and Alison Neveu '18 (women's soccer). 

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics' (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements.

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.